The Indian Railways has announced that the train services to and from Dehradun railway station will cease between November 10, 2019, and February 7, 2020. The halting of train services is due to renovation work that is underway at the train station. The move is expected to greatly inconvenience people and also impact the state’s travel and tourism industry, reports the Times Of India (TOI). 

Sandeep Sahni, president of Hotel and Restaurant Association told TOI: “Usually tourists come to the state capital, spend a day or two and then go to hill stations like Mussoorie, Dhanaulti and Chakrata. But now, Dehradun is likely to witness a dip in tourist footfall.” He also added, “Halting train movement for such a long period will hit the state’s economy badly.  

Mussorie, situated in the district of Dehradun.

Residents to suffer the most

Some trains have been cancelled while others like the Dehradun-New Delhi Shatabadi Express will originate and terminate at Haridwar. Residents were not informed about the closure of the station and faced a huge amount of inconvenience when trains were cancelled. They appealed to the Indian Railways to allow at least a few trains to come to Dehradun. Many locals including students and elderly people rely on train services and will, therefore, face significant problems due to the renovation work.

Local taxi operators are also facing a dip in their business. “Now the tourists will hire taxis from Haridwar, as a consequence of which, private transport services in Dehradun are likely to suffer huge revenue loss”, says a local taxi service company owner.

How the trains will operate

According to official reports from the Railways, as many as 18 trains (up and down) will either culminate at Haridwar or return from other railway stations. The Dehradun-New Delhi Shatabdi and Nanda Devi Express will start from and culminate at Haridwar while the Link Express that arrives at Dehradun from Prayagraj will terminate at Aligarh. Trains from Muzaffarpur to Dehradun will halt at Najibabad. 




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here