Tourists and visitors going to New Zealand might need additional access to gain access to the country, according to Lonely Planet. From October 1 2019, a majority of visitors entering the country will need to request an NZeTA. An NZeTA is a New Zealand Electronic Travel Authority. This will enable travellers from 60 visa-waiver countries to stay in New Zealand for up to three months.

Specific rules for countries

Rules will differ depending on which country the visitor is from. British citizens can stay in New Zealand for up to six months.Australian passport holders and permanent residents of some Pacific Island nations won’t require an NZeTA . Passengers on cruise ships from all countries will compulsorily need to apply for for an NZeTA.

The list of the 60 visa-waiver countries includes the United States, Canada and all member nations of the European Union. The NZeTA is similar to an ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization) for the United States. An NZeTA will be valid for a maximum period of two years for multiple visits.

new zealand NZeTA

How can you apply for an NZeTA?

You can apply for an NZeTA for travel from 1 October starting 1 July 1 2019. This can be done online at or through the Immigration New Zealand mobile app. The application fee is NZ$35 per person.

It is estimated that this International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy (IVL) will raise up to NZ$450 million across five years. The funds will be used to expand NZ’s tourism infrastructure and also help protect the country’s natural environment. Other projected benefits include border security and reduced processing time for travellers entering the country.

Also Read: New Zealand freedom camping is set to get more sustainable

An NZeTA must be requested at least 72 hours before the commencement of travel.  Travellers transiting through New Zealand airports even if New Zealand is not their final destination will need an NZeTA as well.

You can know more about Visa here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here